1. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

Steampunk

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Mallory, Feb 14, 2011.

I really don't know a whole lot about it, aside from the fact that it's old-fashioned combined with hardcore industrial gadgets and technology.

I mean, I know what it looks like as far as clothing, weaponry, buildings etc.

But what else characterized steampunk? After all, you can't exactly say a sci fi or fantasy or horror or romance is categorized as such because of the stylistic appearances of the setting, right?

Are there other characteristics marking steampunk?

2. nzric

nzric Active Member

I'm by no means an expert, but I think steampunk can be anything, starting from the most basic visual characteristics.

I mean, if you say to someone "sherlock holmes vs a giant clockwork spider", it's a great, easy way to leverage off world-building that someone has already done. Most people have a general frame of reference for 19th century stories/fashion/idioms, and you don't need to be a science fiction reader to 'get it' when someone says "a robot, but using cogs and gears instead of computers".

I'll probably get flamed for this, but I'd say the genre is fairly superficial, only in that it doesn't take a huge amount of world-building. If there's any characteristics marking the genre, I'd say it's in borrowing from the "coolest" parts of victorian stories/worlds, in order to have a handy frame of reference for a reader's imagination.

I have found the more 'hardcore' steampunk starts approaching more fantasy territory, i.e. especially using golems, leading to alchemy scenarios. I'm sure you'll get a lot of "....punk" references - subgenres of subgenres, but the bottom line is the mashup of victorian culture/fashion with "what if the tech actually worked" is a gimmick that worked.

On the other hand look at China Meilville - parts of Perdito Station are steampunk-esque but is more of an urban fantasy.

1 person likes this.
  3. Elgaisma