Tags:
  1. LordKyleOfEarth

LordKyleOfEarth Contributing Member Contributor

Story naming question

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by LordKyleOfEarth, Sep 29, 2009.

If I were to write a story in the style of a famous director (as a mock-tribute) and then include his name into the title, would there be legal ramifications to consider?

As an example (which I am currently working on):
    Michael Bay's: Frankenstein

2. Nobeler Than Lettuce

Nobeler Than Lettuce Contributing Member

If it's done as a parody it should be fine. If you're doing it for any other reason I don't see that as being a good idea. Not because of the legal ramifications, but because it would sound stupid. You are supposed to be an independent writer, one who doesn't have to use someone's name to make their work sound better. Though I suppose I've forgotten what classical examples there are of this but am sure there are some.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I'm no lawyer, but it sounds damned risky to me.

4. Rei

Rei Contributing Member Contributor

I wouldn't use their real name, if I did it at all.

5. baillie

baillie Member

It does sound risky, but as previously mentioned, if you did it as a parody, it could work.

Besides, if you were going to use a famous director in your title, would you not be better using a decent director ;-)

"James Camerons : Frankenstein" for instance. Now THAT would work!

6. HorusEye

HorusEye Contributing Member Contributor

I would be more impressed if it was obvious from the writing who the director was, rather than from his name being planting on the cover (which, on the other hand, would give lots of attention during the lawsuit).

7. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

it's not against the law to use anyone's name, if they're already in the public eye...