1. rja2015

rja2015 New Member

Should you be pedantic about the clerical errors you see in an academic reference book?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by rja2015, Jul 18, 2016.

I'm currently studying History in a distance learning school where the primary mode of instruction is through online delivery of academic materials called modules. My concern is that most of these modules contain minor clerical errors, which can be easily spotted and corrected with the help of other references. In one module, for example, the last name of the former U.S. senator Stephen Douglas is spelled with a letter "h". Another module claimed that "Palawan", instead of 'Palanan", was the place where the first Philippine president, Emilio Aguinaldo, was captured. The academic committee responded appropriately when I informed them about these mistakes. But should I continue to be pedantic about the minor clerical errors I might encounter in the future?

Last edited: Jul 18, 2016
  2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 9.33.20 AM.png

Minor errors like these happen. I don't think anyone's advice here is going to be of benefit in whether or not you should continue to serve as a spot checker for the course. I would think that the tone of the response you received would be more indicative of whether or not continued help in this matter is of value. And, just to be pedantic, you missed the word in in the last few words of your final sentence. ;)

Sifunkle, Simpson17866 and rja2015 like this.
  3. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

My long-distance learning materials are appalling. They're not only littered with errors but they don't even make sense in parts. What would be the benefit to me in proof reading them? No benefit. I just mark the course appropriately in any end of year surveys.

Wreybies likes this.
  4. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor