1. Jonias

Jonias Member

To write or not to write?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Jonias, Jan 10, 2011.

Hi,

I'm a university student who has had a plot and at least one really good character floating around in my head for a long time. The story idea isn't novel length but is much lengthier than a short story, which makes it sort of hard for me to just take a breath and write it in one sitting. It's sort of a bittersweet, Dickensian low fantasy, rags to riches and back again, with betrayal and tragedy all the way but redemption at the end. Probably a children's story, but I'm not sure...there is not much violence but there is some disturbing content that is essential to the story.

The problem is, if I'm to be completely honest with myself, my results at writing stories as opposed to summaries have been mixed. Actually, many of my most touching, well written stories have involved almost no dialogue and have been all about the characters inner feelings. They are also usually brimming with suspense, and when it is appropriate I do description very well. But even at my best, I have to be inspired...people tell you just to write anyway but if I'm not the stuff is just SCHLOCK, far more melodramatic and unfelt than most writers would churn out if they weren't in the mood. I went to a creative writing circle last year, and I seemed to be more comfortable writing more whimsical, funny, ironic stuff. They told me I had a talent for comedy (which I think is mixed in and of itself....granted I've some very funny stuff but I think it was more by fluke that the stuff I wrote in there was). So I decided to try out NaNoWriMo when my friend recommended an outline for a comedy I had come up with, but I was going through a difficult time and abandoned it.