1. Joshua Taj Bozeman

Joshua Taj Bozeman New Member

Can someone help me with these "passive verbs"?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Joshua Taj Bozeman, Mar 15, 2012.

I'm taking a 300 level writing class, and the professor is a major stickler when it comes to passive voice...so much that my paper is filled with red marks. I know I'm a good writer, so I can't even imagine what most of these kids are getting back, as I have peer critiqued their own writings. In terms of passive voice, as long as you don't use it for every sentence, I see no use in correcting it. Surely, some terrible writing exists, and passive voice is to blame, but I don't see it with a lot of my sentences that he has marked.

[[I SHOULD NOTE- on the back of my paper, he says "you rely heavily on the "to be" form," which I assume he is attacking a passive voice, but the confusion still exists for the items below.]]

I'm going to list some of the examples, because I cannot figure out how on earth to change them without making the sentences sound ridiculous and forced.

"Even if one were to make the audacious claim that slavery is, in any manner, acceptable, there's no way to excuse such deplorable treatment of another human being."

he marked, in red, "were to make," "slavery is," and "there's no way"

1) Were to make- how do you change that without simply "makes" which changes the meaning of what I'm saying?
    2) Slavery is- I have no idea how to fix that at all. Without using the word "accepting" and changing the order, which sounds insanely odd.?
    3) there's no way- outside of saying "no excuse exists" which also changes the meaning and the emphasis- I'm trying to indict the deplorable treatment, but by changing it, I lose that.