1. Rayo

Rayo New Member

Question about dialogue

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Rayo, Mar 23, 2011.

Hello I am just learning about how to incorporate dialogue into my writing and I've googled the basics but there is one thing that I am not too sure of.

I understand that each time someone speaks, there must be an indent. What I am confused about is if I wanted to start certain dialogue with a description (not just the quoted speech), do I also indent this as well.

Random Example:

"Hi Bob"

Shaking his head, he shouts, "What do you want?"

"Nothing dude. Just wanted to see how you were."

"Well I'm good, thanks for asking."

Confused at his snarky responses, he asks, "Did I do something wrong"

Basically, I am trying to figure out if the two sentences where I didn't start with quotes, needs to indented as well.

Thank you very much for all of your help.

2. Rayo

Rayo New Member

Ok so after posting I see that the two sentences I wrote did not indent. I am new at this so sorry about that. I'll just copy and paste the two sentences I am referring to--just to eliminate confusion:

Shaking his head, he shouts, "What do you want?"

Confused at his snarky responses, he asks, "Did I do something wrong"

3. zaffy

zaffy Active Member

You indent each time a person speaks.

(indent)They walked along the road laughing and talking all the while.
    (indent)Bob said, "I like ice cream and da de de da de da de da."
    (indent)Ann said, "Do you realy like ice cream and da de da de da de da?"
    (indent)Fred stopped and looked at his two friends and said, "I like da de da de da de da de de da de da de da da da dadadadadadaddadadadadadadadaddadadadadaddadada."
    (indent)Ann said, "You like a lot of things don't you?"
    (indent)"Yes," said Fred.