1. A.S.Ford

A.S.Ford Active Member

Struggling to write, please help!

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by A.S.Ford, Feb 23, 2016.

Recently, I have been struggling with a story I have been working on due to the pressure it, and other people, seem to be putting on me to complete it. I realised that I need to re-learn how to ignore these pressure as I was able to do it before and greatly increase my progress, however, I can't remember how to do this. My friend suggested taking a break from writing on the pc and returning to working on paper. I was wondering if any one else had any other ideas for me to try as well?

2. Roux

Roux Member

Writing on paper could help. Maybe even take a little break from your current story and work on something else for fun? Sometimes that's helpful at relieving pressure.
    While I'm no expert on this by any means, I feel I can relate to you because I've gone through similar things with my own WIP. Some advice I think might help is to realize that this isn't anyone else's story, its YOUR'S, and that means you can finish it at your own pace. Remember why you started writing the story in the first place...was it to please other people? My guess would be no and the reason was more likely related to enjoyment, loving the story, a creative outlet etc. etc.
    Whenever you're feeling pressured just remember writing isn't about the destination, its about the journey (cheesy metaphors for the win haha). Whether the book takes you ten years to finish or ten months, it's for you as the author to decide. Try not to worry about what other people want :)
    Just my quick 2 cents haha, good luck!

MeadhbhMoryx likes this.
  3. A.S.Ford

A.S.Ford Active Member