1. Jessica Cantell

Jessica Cantell New Member

Stuck with basic plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Jessica Cantell, Jan 11, 2014.

Hey all.. I am extremely new to fictional writing, have done a little in the past but have not yet written a fictional book, which I now aim to do.

I plan to write a book for women, possibly young women... I have some ideas about things I could write, I'm basing it on my own diary and have a good diary post to get me started with, but I am stuck really about how to form a plot... how do you all find inspiration for coming up with the plot? Does something just come to you and you start writing, or do you have to find a prompt to give you ideas?

Thanks for listening :)

Jessica Cantell

2. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

Yes. ;)

In all honesty, it depends on the writer. Some people's work rests solely on that inspirational line they find on a prompt website, and others just start with a simple sentence from the top of their heads and work from there. I tend to do both. I start with a line in my own head, or an idea (e.g. talking banana seeks love), and then fill out some of the book with prompts.

If you know you want to work from your own diary, then that's an excellent start, because you already know what your character's problems and aspirations are, because you've written them yourself. Of course you don't have to use all of your writing, but first of all I would go through your diary and jot down any lines that stand out, any problems or blessings. Once you've done that, try and form a character from them. Is this character like you? Male or female? How old? Why is she writing a diary? What does she hope to accomplish (this particular question can be an important one, because you could focus your book on the character going through those problems and pains to reach that aspiration, if you want to do it like that.