1. DoctorNovel

DoctorNovel New Member

Student, and enjoy writing for a hobby

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by DoctorNovel, Aug 25, 2012.

Hello all, -- new to the forums

I am currently a student (BIO Major) and have been writing for about 4-5 years -- but even before then I have always had "ideas/vivid imagination"
    I find inspiration for my work in the most simplest things, whether it is people I see, a painting, a movie etc...
    However, I am trying to differentiate whether or not my writing is just a form of me trying to express my creativity as a hobby --
    or for people to take interest in it. I remember reading that "the average person believes he/she is above average" and in some respects I believe
    some of my writing is a bit better than I make it out to be. However I am afraid that people might think my work is not as novel as I think it is! Needless to say, I haven't let anyone read my writings -- like I said I have kept it a hobby. The reason why I am posting here is because I am not allowed to post in the other forums quite yet..the majority of my work is screenplays for TV pilots or films..
    I would love to fine tune one (or two) of them and upload it here for some official feeback

Thanks,

2. ArtWander

ArtWander New Member

Hello, and let me be the first to give you welcome to the forum!

Honestly? What the heck is stopping you from posting here to get some feedback? As long as you follow the rules of posting your own work for critique (as outlined on this forum elsewhere) don't think that your work isn't worthy. Once you give your own critiques, post some work. I'll give it a review :)

3. E. C. Scrubb

E. C. Scrubb Active Member

Why not both? Let it be a hobby that you want to do well in. Then let others see it. Maybe it just remains a hobby, maybe it becomes a job that you make trillions doing. I don't see a losing situation here. Don't worry about labeling yourself. As Nike says, just do it.

4. DoctorNovel