1. Pen II

Pen II New Member

Sci-Fi Writer looking for a few answers/advice!

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Pen II, May 15, 2008.

Hello all! First off, I just wanted to say so far I have seen that this forum/website is a very good one, and I must give you guys a big 'Congrats for It, I really like it.

Well, as the title says, I am a beginning Sci-Fi Writer. I really do not plan on any type of publishing, but I do love to write stories and have my friends read them, infact, they all get a kick out of seeing a book with my name on it.

I have a few questions, because I do wish to incorporate them into my story. If you would like to, answer what you want, even one would be great. I just really need some help.

Here they are:

1) What are some reasons a planet-wide war might break out? This DOES NOT Mean Human vs. Human, Maybe its Aliens?

2) What is one reason why Humanity might be forced to leave Earth, or possibly immigrate to a new planet?

3) Think of a life-threatening thing that is working its way to destroy/take over all of Humanity. (A Great example would be the Flood, from Halo, absolutly amazing, I though!)

4) When writing, how do you come up with Sci-Fi names? I have had some GREAT Replies to this one, and it is my most interesting question I think. (Please, try to answer this one, I have a HUGE Problem making up Sci-Fi Names!!!)

5) Last but certainly not least, Name a 'object' that can be found in space, and had the ability to support life. Again, a good example is Halo, from... well, Halo, and I would really love to incorporate a Ring World in the book, but then I feel I would be stealing Bungie's Idea. Can anyone help me with this? I need a really shocking, extreme setting. If you do answer this one, please dont say 'A planet with...' I am not really interested In a planet for the main setting. I prefer some type of... 'Metal' Object, something that was machined, not formed in the beginning of the universe.