Tags:
  1. 123456789

123456789 Contributor Contributor

Novel How long should we really be spending on a novel?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by 123456789, Aug 14, 2018.

Here's my question: How long should we, ideally, be spending on a single novel, if our goal is to be a published novelist?

I know in the past from dozens of different threads, "as long as it takes" is a popular answer, but it's not really one I've ever been satisfied with. All of us (to my knowledge) have a finite amount of time to finish a novel. Moreover, I'm assuming that even a good novel has a certain probability of getting picked up, which means you might have to go through the querying process more than once before you're successful.

As a published author, I'm assuming you may have contracts with actual deadlines. Should we unpublished authors therefore have self imposed deadlines? Is there a point where we should be saying "I've worked on this novel for x years, any imperfections left can either get picked up by the editor or just endured by the reader"?

@BayView I'm particularly curious about your opinion on this

deadrats likes this.
  2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Hmmm...

I don't know?

I mean, first novels are different from later novels, I'd say. And expectations vary from genre to genre...

I think for first novels (or number whatever novel, until there's one that's published)... keep working on it as long as you're having fun and as long as you feel like you're learning something? Maybe? As long as you have a concrete reason to believe you're actually improving it, not just taking out a comma one day and putting it back in the next day?

I think a lot of what takes a lot of writers so long with their first novels is that they aren't just writing a novel; they're learning to write. So then subsequent novels, one hopes, will come more quickly?