1. Samomo

Samomo New Member

Taking Postcounts off Intro threads

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Samomo, Dec 31, 2009.

I know as a newbie I probably do not have much saying power in issues, but it's a common issue I notice in many introduction threads.

People are there to whore out posts and many do not contribute to knowing the user better and instead, give the one worded answer or the occasional long sentence. And why should you get a post count for delivering litterally nothing to the site other than a welcome? If the welcome is genuine and fueled out of friendliness, than taking the post count off does not harm anyone but reduce the litter-welcomes of the intro forum.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Welcomes are not fodder for inflating post counts. The Word Games, used to be, which is why they don't add to post counts.

Most welcomes on this site are meant to be friendly or helpful to newcomers. Even one word replies are generally meant to be friendly.

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

And do post counts really matter?

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Only when people start competing for high counts. Then they become a problem.

5. marina

marina Contributor Contributor

I know that there are a few people who regularly welcome newbies to WF, but I think it's just their friendly disposition at work rather than whoring out posts. I get your frustration, though, as I've seen the latter happen at other sites. Never really understood why some people feel the need to accumulate post counts.

6. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Yeah.

I don't get it.

There are no prizes.

7. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

right you are, wrey!...