1. AeowynFraser

AeowynFraser New Member

Conundrum

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by AeowynFraser, Feb 16, 2012.

Hi. I am a very new to the forum.

I have a story idea but I don't know how to go about it. The idea is simple but the answer is too complex for me. It is an alternate history idea.

What would our history be like if Henry VIII's older brother Arthur didn't die young?

Thanks for your time.

2. JPGriffin

JPGriffin New Member

Well, I'm no expert in the subject, but the general way I'd go about historical fiction is this:

1st. Learn as much on the subject as possible, or at least as much as you're willing to learn specifically. Try and get a general idea on cause-and-effect, and path out the line of events (Action A lead to point B, which caused Action C to happen, etc.).

2nd. Completely derail the path. Figure out, using logic and trying to get into the mindset of any major characters that will have a role in your writing, how others would act if Arthur had lived a long, prosperous life. How would opponents react? How would he react? Go about this project using the Socratic method; ask who would do what in response to the event, and go from there. In the end, though, it's your story, and if you want to have a man stick a knife in Arthur's back, then you go ahead and do that.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

This will sound a bit brutal, but it really isn't.

Nearly anyone can come up with a story idea. Anyone with an imagination, that is. And most people have at least bursts of imagination.

How to go about it. Aye, there's the rub, as old Will wrote. The craft, the art of writing, takes time, and practice, and study.