1. Neha

Neha Beyond Infinity. Contributor

The Commodity called Marriage

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Neha, May 22, 2015.

Okay, so that's the pretty weird topic, I know. But I'm currently a management intern at one of the largest matrimonial site in the world for Indians(primarily). My project involved forming a direct marketing campaign for one of their products for which I had to interview a lot of people about marriage and their views on it. So I got a lot of varied opinions on the entire subject.

A lot of people here don't know me. I'm an old member of the forums, from India, who is currently getting a masters in management. If you've heard about India, you have probably heard about how arranged marriages are a norm here(which is surprisingly contrary to what my research says).

Anyway, what are your views on arranged marriage? (I've probably asked this question to a different set of people here). Also, the product that I told you about? A 3 month subscription for that is around 1200 USD. It's the most expensive product that they have. Do you suppose this makes marriage a commodity to be traded? If guaranteed a high success rate, would you be willing to consider an arranged marriage?

Also, if you're currently married, or in a serious relationship, how did you meet them? Was it through mutual friends or a chance meeting or something else?

Or is this just a plain, weird conversation to have?
    I'd love to know your views either way! :)

2. KaTrian

KaTrian A foolish little beast. Contributor

Hi Neha! :superhello: It's nice to meet long-time members who were active here before my time.