1. Cacian

Cacian Banned

The English Language Thread

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Cacian, Nov 15, 2011.

here you can post all your questions with regards to why a word is written or spelt in anyway.
    all your EVER WONDERED WHY...questions here.

mine is

ever wondered why we have to add an S to He and SHE after a verb?

I speak
    he speaks
    she speaks
    they speak

obviously we cannot IT SPEAKS for logic reason.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

actually, we can, if referring to something non-human... it's done often in re animals or aliens! ;)

i gave up wondering about the vagaries of english when i started studying french and italian and spanish, since it was clear to me by then that english is the most inconsistent and confused/confusing language in the world...

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Most languages have some kind of verb conjugation within the same tense, so it's not something that's unique to English.

There's a language called Esperanto that only requires conjugating verbs when switching to a different tense (i.e. present vs. past), but it otherwise requires no verb conjugation within the same tense. I think Chinese does something similar to this as well.

4. Cacian

Cacian Banned

I am sure it still can't..we never them hear utter words as such.:p

5. Cacian

Cacian Banned

I do not get esperanto at all.
    sounds like waiting for godot.. one could only hope...it nover took off or arrived anywhere;)

6. agentkirb

agentkirb New Member

It's the way it is. Actually, adding the 's' at the end of some verbs when switching from 1st or 2nd to 3rd person... it's not really THAT crazy. A lot of different languages change the form of the verb when you switch the pronoun.