1. Haribol Acharya

Haribol Acharya Member

The future of writers

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Haribol Acharya, Jul 30, 2008.

The future of writers is blurred. We see but hazily how future writers will have to cope with the age they will be in. Already now there are so many mediums of entertainments, and that literature will be able to survive against the invasion of other forms of medias is something we can figure out.

I am a writer not by profession but by choice. Today living off literary domains poses a great challenge indeed. I am a writer just because I have a passion for writing. But making a living by writing is a far cry, something we can not imagine of at this juncture unless you are a successful writer.

To be a successful writer you need two things: Either you must have literary acumen. Or you must stand out or outshine the rest the way Naipaul did or you must be able to use influence or else you can not leave a mark.

Now one can not survive taking up a career of writing unless you work on or write on commercials. Or unless you are a screen writer you can not live prolifically.
    Writing is something that must go commercially if we want to grow proliferously at this competitive juncture. No doubt if we become too much readers or audiences centric art will face its sheen and will go shadowed. But everything in the world undergoes a great shift these days why should not literature or genres of creativity follow suit.