1. Kit

Kit Contributor Contributor

The lovely bones - Alice Sebold

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Kit, Apr 16, 2007.

This is my first attempt at writing a real review so don't be too harsh... lol

From the start, The Lovely Bones attracted a rather suprising amount of attention, placing it under a lot of pressure to meet the expectations of its readers. A task which it apparantly managed as it soon topped the bestsellers lists, and earned numerous glowing reviews.

The novel is narrated by 14-year-old rape and murder victim Susie Salmon, who watches her family, friends and murderer live out their lives from her own personalised heaven. She watches how her death affects them, and watches as her death leads to series' of events in their own lives: her father goes crazy with grief, her mother is driven to an affair by the loss of the daughter she never wanted, her sister feels that her entire life will be a comparison to that of her sister's, whilst her brother is too young to comprehend the meaning of death.

Susie soon discovers that heaven is not a perfect place, she relates to us how all she wants is to be "allowed to grow up." a truly heart-wrenching moment as she watches people her own age experience their first kiss, their first love and such experiences that were ripped from her at a young age.

Susie fights for the chance to return just to experience these things that were denied her, which introduces a modern spiritualism to the book. Infact, Sebold has managed to capture well many of our modern fears and excitements.