Tags:
  1. Jimmy Holmes

Jimmy Holmes New Member

How to begin the process of writing a novel

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Jimmy Holmes, Jun 3, 2017.

Hi folks :)

I have finally decided to take the plunge and attempt to write a novel. I am a complete novice, but it is something I have a great desire to explore. For the past fifteen years I have been keeping notes on an irregular basis, just of things that I found funny or interesting, in the thought that I would one day write a screenplay or novel. I have decided on the latter, mainly due to the creative freedom it offers in comparison to a screenplay. I was just looking for a few obvious hints or tips, or even direction to online sources that may help with the process. I am right at the beginning, in that I am currently writing detailed descriptions of the main characters. I have identified a start and end to the story, and that I am likely going to write it from a first person basis. I am then planning on trying to write brief summaries of each chapter in the novel, in order to have some sort of structure to revert to if the story begins to digress. Does it sound as if I am on the right track so far?

As mentioned, I understand that I am a complete novice, so apologies in advance if I have offended anyone with my naivety! I understand this will be lengthy expedition, so am eager to start off on the correct footing.

Cheers in advance

James

2. Walking Dog

Walking Dog Active Member