1. manquaman

manquaman New Member

The Pleasure is Mine

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by manquaman, Feb 4, 2010.

Hello to anybody reading this.

I thought it might be better to write this in case anyone who I eventually run into wonders who I think I am. Well, like you, I think I am a writer. It's not official yet, but I have to think that it's only a matter of time before my name appears on the cover of a book.

I have been practicing this trade for a long time. I have learned my process, and my voice is getting better and better. I wrote a few screenplays when I lived in San Francisco - even had an opportunity to put one in front of Paul Zaentz (that's Saul's nephew). Nothing panned out though. I wasn't ready.

Now I'm on my second novel. The first was a really creative and fresh look at modern spirituality through the vision of the past. And because this effort, which took me seven years to write, in between working a full time job and dealing with divorce and separation from my son, did not garner the attention that I thought it would, I know I am still not ready.

I'm not a young person anymore which gives me all the more reason to work even harder. I was a writer ever since the fourth grade, I just didn't know it. All the little stories and situations I set up were only for fun. It wasn't until I was sitting on a beach in Hawaii, wondering what in the *ell I was going to do with my life did I rembember that I was a writer. All the pathetic poetry I had already written, along with the sh*te I was currently pouring out told me that I would never be a poet, but I finally started to believe that maybe I could make a living doing something I really enjoyed doing.