1. northernadams

northernadams Member

Breaking Through

Discussion in 'Agent Discussion' started by northernadams, Nov 13, 2013.

Anyone else frustrated with trying to figure out what agents and editors want, and not being able to break through? I must be an incredibly bad writer. I've been writing for almost ten years without any kind of success at all.

2. A.M.P.

A.M.P. People Buy My Books for the Bio Photo Contributor

Did you ever read Publisher's Market to find out the going on's in the publisher world?
    Or take up any books concerning with publishing and what is publishable and not?

Those usually give very good advice on why you're succeeding or not.
    With a grain of salt, of course.

3. northernadams

northernadams Member

Yes to both. I'm getting very frustrated. I know I'm not the only one on a site like this, but I have no idea what to do. Maybe I should quit.

4. A.M.P.

Well, if you quit, that means they win.
    And you're a terrible writer.

Don't stop just because you've been rejected.
    Most first timers are and for quite a while.

Now, odds are, after 10 years, you ARE doing something wrong.
    No doubt about it or you'd have been published.

Did you try contacting a professional editor or someone similar to tell you what is wrong?

5. northernadams

northernadams Member

Just the editor who proofed my ms. I've been to two conferences and got paid critiques, but when I was finally able to get one from an editor (those always filled up first, then agents, and then other authors) hoping to get--specifically--an 'editor's eye' for feedback, the first thing he told me when we sat down was that he was critiqued it like a reader. Made me mad as hell.

Writers have critique groups and betas--we don't need yet another 'reader's eye.' I wasted $30, and I really can't afford to waste that much money.