1. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

Starting my 'second draft'

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Lea`Brooks, Nov 5, 2015.

I'm 72k words into my WIP. I'm starting chapter 30 of 42 tomorrow. If all goes according to plan, I'll be finished writing by next week and can start editing. So in my free time, I've been looking up editing tips to get me prepared on how to start. I've never done this before, so I'm pretty nervous about it.

I've been scouring through the forum, looking at old editing threads and the suggestions listed. I've noticed a lot of people say to print it out and read it through first, making notes along the way. Then going back and rewriting it. So I have a few questions that I hope you all wouldn't mind answering for me.

1. If I've been making notes of things that need to be fixed as I write them, should I still print it out and read it first, making additional notes?

2. I also saw a lot of people focus on SPaG first, then plot and issues second. That seems a little backwards to me. I feel like the plot should be fixed first, then checked over again for SPaG errors. Is there a reason it's done the other way around, or does it matter if I do plot first?

3. I have a lot of things I know I need to fix, mostly word choices with a chapter that needs basically completely rewritten. I wrote very generically and without creativity so that I could just get it done. But my plot in general is pretty solid, with no major revisions needed, because I followed an outline beforehand. Is it recommended to fix these issues first and then print it out and start editing?

I know everyone does things differently, and I'm sure I'll figure out my own way. I may even buy a book to help (though the last time I bought a book to guide me, it hindered more than it helped, so maybe I won't). I just wanted to get the basics set first, set out my to-do list so that I know exactly where I'm going next.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. :)