1. waitingforzion

waitingforzion Banned

I guess this means I can't be a writer.

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by waitingforzion, Jan 1, 2011.

Sometimes I want to write professionally, even stories and stuff, but every time I try I get lazy or wind up writing some really lousy stuff. My reading comprehension isn't always that great either, and I usually don't have the energy to digest a whole book. I wonder if that has anything to do with it. What should I do if I want to write well, even well enough to write stories and stuff? I admit that right now I am a very bad writer, but isn't there something I can do to become a great writer?

2. popsicledeath

popsicledeath Banned

Depends who you ask. Stephen King believes some people will simply never, ever be able to improve to the point of greatness. Basically that if you had a shot at it, you wouldn't need to ask if it were possible, as you'd already be on track to making it so.

Most people will say to keep writing, keep practicing, that anything is possible, everyone starts out not knowing much, nobody's first draft is perfect, we all have to learn and grow, even the greats started out rubbish, etc.

It's up to you what to believe, I suppose.

Personally, if I was trying to be a plumber, and just wasn't that into it, or no matter how hard I tried always still ended up getting crap all over me... I'd probably just take it as a sign I'm not cut out to be a plumber and try a different trade.

Of course, some people believe plumbing is all just an art and subjective anyways, so there's no judging whether you're a good plumber or not, and the important thing is to do what you love and hope for success. Those people would keep trying, and keep getting sprayed in crap, most likely.

For me, after getting covered in crap a few times, I consider doing something new, even if my dream was to become a plumber.