1. claytaylor

claytaylor New Member

Could use a little help with a roadblock

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by claytaylor, Aug 19, 2015.

Hello everyone. I'm new here and hopefully it's ok to ask for help. I'm a filmmaker and have been wanting to make a short film in the post-apocalyptic genre for quite some time. I get an idea running, but end up hitting a block. The only rule that I have is that it has to be kept within 15 pages (translates to roughly 15 minutes of film).

The setting of the story will be rural/woods in the country that used to be the good ol' U.S. of A. World War 3 brought about the collapse of society (all of the details of who/what started it won't come into play - no time for establishing a lot of backstory in 15 pages - I kind of have to open in the middle of the story and run with it).

My previous draft had a female lead. In THAT story women were a scarce commodity and highly sought after by "traders" - they were taken back to the cities to be sold for slaves or amusement. Her sister was captured by a group and she was on a mission to free her. Kept running into road blocks on that one and it didn't go where I wanted it to.

I've also tossed around the idea of a male lead who is protecting another character and trying to lead him/her to a new civilization - but I'm stuck on why this person is important and where the urgency is. I know - hard to have a story if you can't make the character or the cause matter. Along the save vein is a man trying to reach a new society with his step daughter - he swore her mother he'd take care of her, but she blames him for her mother's death somehow (still post-apoc setting). Her change is coming to realize how much she does care about him.

Any ideas? I know these are basic and blah - If I can get help creating a solid logline or breaking through this block on WHAT my story is, I can run with it. I just need that initial nudge to get across the starting line.