1. Johncrawfordz

Johncrawfordz Member

Writing for Western or Eastern audiences?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Johncrawfordz, Jul 10, 2014.

Good day to all

It's my first time posting so pleasure to meet you all. Currently, I have a question that I would like to ask for your advice.

Ok, I have been reading quite a bunch of Japanese Light novels while refining my writing skills over the past few years. I am interested in creating my own story which would be a novella as a starting stage. Now I am in a predicament in finalizing the setting for my novella / light novel.

To my understanding, the writing styles and things that relate is different between Western and Eastern readers. The plot I have in mind seems to be very prominent for a Japanese light novel but the writing style for this doesn't seem to be a good match for an Western English based novella in my view. So I am a bit confused on choosing which style to cater to. I am trying to decide this because otherwise I cannot finalize my character names and important landmarks for the story.

Note: This is ignoring the need for research of details regarding any location that will be selected.

Please kindly provide your thoughts & advice on this matter.

Thank you

Regards,
    John Crawfordz

2. Chaos Inc.

Chaos Inc. Active Member

As a person researching the differences in Eastern and Western video game styles, you'll have better luck catering to the Eastern audience and pulling some of us Westerners over.

My reasoning is how a certain group of American nerds love their Anime and dress up like their favorite characters. I don't see many Easterners dressing up like our Western cartoon characters in conventions over there.

Of course I could be totally wrong.

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Just FYI, publishers don't normally take on novellas because there's no market for them. Of course, this doesn't matter if you're self-publishing.