1. Josh A. Murphy

Josh A. Murphy New Member

Using somebodies name - permission ect.

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Josh A. Murphy, Jul 26, 2015.

Hi there, i've signed up to this forum for a little advice.

I'm a self published writer through Amazon, and I've released two books of what will be a trilogy. When I started writing the first part, I was talking to a girl and thought it would be a good idea to name a character after her. Soon after me and this girl started dating, and we ended up being together for a year. In that space of time I finished the first book, and finished the second. Shortly after a year, we split up. It was quite a messy split up, and she sold my Xbox One... so it's safe to say I have zero contact with her noe. It soon dawned on me that I might need her permission to continue to use her name, as the character not only has her name, but it's also built around her personality.

It's quite a dark series set after an apocalypse, and I had two idea's for what was going to happen to her - neither of them were good, both resulted in a barbaric death. My concern is, many people may think that I did these things to the character out of spite, when in reality it was the plan all along. She loved the books, and she loved the idea's that I had for her, but I'm worried that since she's turned out to be a bit of a she-devil she might kick up a fuss about it?

I emailed her asking for permission to use the name still, but she hasn't replied, and I don't think she intends to. So, even without her blessing to continue to use her name, am I okay too? Especially since she's almost certainly going to be die a horrible and humiliating death, as the plans were anyway.

Cheers!

2. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Oi, this is a bit of a pickle you've found yourself in.