Tags:
  1. jackten

jackten New Member

I love x kind of stories but only seem to come up with y stories...

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by jackten, Jul 11, 2008.

I'm very new to writing, have half a dozen started and thrown out screenplays and short stories. My question and dilemma is that:

- I like smart, heartfelt, dramas about life, like Californication and American Beauty.

but

- I only seem to come up with ideas for soulless blockbuster type movies based on "cool" what if this crap happened in the future scenarios...

I know in the early stages I should just practice writing, whatever it is, but can anyone offer any thoughts on my problem? Maybe its just because I'm young and have little life experience or something? I really don't have much to draw on to write the stuff I love to watch and read.

Cheers

2. Kirby Tails

Kirby Tails New Member

Well, maybe the problem is that you are just far too exposed to the kinda of stories that you write, and they just tend to sep into your mind. Perhaps it'd be better to read some more unique stories rather than just watch movies. Of course, I really don't know you or your lifestyle, so I could be way wrong here. What's an example of a kind of movie you keep thinking of?

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

yup!... but before you 'practice' you have to 'learn'!... and to do that, you must study the kind of writing you want to do...

that's definitely part of it, i'm sure... but being young and inexperienced is only your current state... the young part will be taken care of, no matter what you do... as will knowing more about 'life'... in the meantime, you can still study, learn, practice, if you have the passion and patience it takes to be a writer... the latter is hard for a youngster to develop or maintain, but it's a vital requisite...