1. ToeKneeBlack

ToeKneeBlack Contributing Member Contributor

Thou Shalt Not Name Thy Characters "X"

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by ToeKneeBlack, Apr 13, 2016.

I write books, but I also work in a school. I won't say where it is or what it's called, but one of the pupils has asked me if I could name a character after them in one of my WIPs. No harm in that I thought, as there's no reference to the school, nor are there any personal details or photographs of the person in question.

20 proof copies later and I'm told by my line manager to remove the name. I'm also told I can't use a similar sounding name. Note that I'm only using their first name. If I'd picked "John" or "Sarah", you could guarantee there would be at least 20 pupils with those names. Not to mention all the other character names in my previous works which violate this "rule".

This leaves me with names from other countries or names which nobody uses any more.
    I'm not renaming my main character "Mildred" for anyone - not that I don't like the name, but it would be more suited to a story set in the 1930's than in the 2200's.

Can my employer legally stop me from using a specific first name? I don't want to cause a problem at work, but I think this is an unreasonable request.

2. Wreybies

Wreybies The Ops Pops Operations Manager Staff Contest Administrator Supporter Contributor

Just to clarify: Is the proscription being demanded in work that is work-work, or in your personal work? If it's work-work, then yes, I think they can diffidently make demands given that they are technically the end client, but if it's your personal work I don't think they have leg to stand on.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

"line manager"?

Are you writing fiction or some texts that are used in the school?

How did the complainant know the name involved a student request?

4. ToeKneeBlack