1. stage2

stage2 New Member

Tips for creating a convincing mad man ~ well sort of

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by stage2, Dec 7, 2009.

Evening all. I'm a games design student at university, and a couple of my fellow course mates have got together to create a small game in between studying and drinking. We've been recommended to do so by our tutor who believes the only way to make any progress in this business is to "do".

My task is to create the story and characters (the others consist of coders, artists and audio techs). However, I havn't all that much experience in the way of creating characters and thus am in need of a little help.

I guess I had better start with explaining the story so far. The game is set in a "Medieval-esq" land, however the location is purely fantasy. The player controls the protagonist King Alaric Deltrelos IV. When Alaric was 35 he was blessed with a son and heir. However, shortly after his third birthday, Alaric's son fell ill with disease and soon after dies. Alaric, blinded by emotion denies his son's death and believes him to still be alive, kept locked away due to his contagious state. Convinced by a strange man that there is a cure for his son's disease, Alaric sets off with his men to find said cure. The men know not of their mission and are simply following orders, until the stranger tells Alaric that an innocent village is hiding the cure and that he must burn the village if he is to find it.