1. Midnight_Adventurer

Midnight_Adventurer Active Member

Tips on creating a Title

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Midnight_Adventurer, Mar 29, 2010.

Now before you all jump to the conclusion that I'm just a lazy uncreative writer who can’t be bothered coming up with her own titles you'd be wrong.
    I'm fact I enjoy creating the titles for the little tid-bits I’ve written, it’s challenging to come up with those few words that capture the essence of you story.
    Annnyyyway I'm currently working on my first major novel but for the life of me I CAN’T THINK OF A GOOD TITLE! :mad: Now I'm not gonna sit here and give you a detailed description of what my novel is about because I don’t want you guys to give me actual suggestions because I can see a copy write fiasco right there, lol. I will however tell you this;
    * It's an adventure/action novel
    * I will (hopefully) be making in into a trilogy
    * I'll have a main title and a sub title. The main title will be the same for each book and the sub will change. Right now I have a sub title but not the main!

This is where you guys come in :) please if you have any tips or suggestions about creating titles share them here and I’ll give them a try!:D

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

First off, no one will steal your book from a synopsis.
    Second, the word is copyright. Ideas are not copyrightable. Only completed works (including drafts) are copyrightable. And they are protected by copyright law automatically as soon as you have a completed draft.
    Titles are not copyrightable either.

Now to the main question. Don't worry about it. Just choose a working title for now. It doesn't need to be great. It's just a placeholder, a convenient label whileyou are writing the novel.