1. jo spumoni

jo spumoni Active Member

La Jolla, CA (and Mission Viejo, CA, during the su

Tips on writing a synopsis?

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by jo spumoni, Nov 7, 2010.

Some good news: I queried a publisher and they asked for a more detailed synopsis because the plot I described briefly peaked their interest :)

Some bad news: I'm having trouble getting the synopsis just right. :confused:

I can't seem to get it under 3 pages. Mind you, it doesn't have to be under 3 pages, but considering that my story is only about 28,000 words, that seems a too long. I think the main thing I have difficulty with is that my book is written in choppy scenes with very little narration. In the synopsis, I try to describe only the important scenes, but since my book is so short, every scene is important.

I've never written a synopsis before, and I'm uncertain as to the best way to do it.

Any one have any good tips? Sorry to be so vague. When I feel better about it, I might post it on one of the forums, but at the moment, I'm not even ready to do that.

Thanks!

2. arron89

arron89 Banned

A synopsis is not necessarily a plot summary. Obviously that should be a part of it, but the synopsis is a good opportunity to show off your knowledge of how a novel works, how you understand structure, development, theme, etc, etc.

To be honest, I've never really understood people not being able to write synopses. Every story by anyone ever can be reduced to one sentence, two at most. If you can't do that with your work, then maybe you don't understand it well enough. And if you can, then you shouldn't have a problem. Start with that one sentence and broadly outline the story in a few more. Talk about how the novel works as much as well as about what's literally happening.

I guess there isn't really a right way to do it, but I'm pretty sure a detailed 3-page plot summary is wrong.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor