1. Cheshare

Cheshare New Member

Novel To afraid to start a book after years of planning?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Cheshare, Apr 3, 2011.

First off hi! First post, just found this place and it's great

but this is something that's been bugging me a bit with my own writing,

Years ago some things happened in an MMORPG I used to play that inspired a story in my head, so first I wanted to just write one book.

Then that grew to three as I had another arc of the characters life's I wanted to add in

then that grew to five as I realized that the first book was going to be way to long if I kept it at one book.

Then it grew to 8 as I added in more characters and detailed my plot out more

In the end I've been writing this book in my head for about 4 or 5 years now, it's grown and I'm so happy with it's plot now and character development, I've written about a hundred short story's, some in the book some side story's, I have a whole book compilation of the worlds history it takes place in, and pages and pages of character development ramblings and bouncing ideas off a friend.

Now heres the problem, I've been meaning to start this book this year but every time I sit down and open up a fresh document, I just feel like I cant start it yet, like this thing Ive worked so hard on I cant put into chronological order even though I know it perfectly. Or I tend to want to just jump right into book 4 of the series and skim over everything else but the one scene I have in my head.

I haven't had this problem before, this would be my 6th novel I've written, and I really finally want to get this one down on paper.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Similar circumstances? Id love to get some second opinions on this issue, it's been troubling me since November when I first took a crack at writing it out (and got about 50 pages in or so)

2. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor