1. Niklas

Niklas New Member

To let the script rest

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Niklas, Apr 22, 2015.

So i have finished my novel. Ive been writing for 5 months constantly reading the material to my girlfriend. Many of you guys now tell me to let the script rest for a month (maybe 2). The thing is that I don’t really see the point. The first 75% of the script has rested 3-5 months. I am aware of the plot of course and I don’t think it will fade away for like a year since Ive been writing every day and also took some weeks recently to fix plotholes allover the script.
    So is there really necessary to let I t rest? Whats the point if you look at my given background of the writing process? Maybe I should let the last 25% rest for a month but when I ve red till 75% a month would have passes. In addition to this 5 persons who never seen the script will read and give their opinion.
    Whats your opinions to this matter? I apologize for my English.

2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

Let it rest for a month? Where did you get that from?

The whole point is that you will then approach your novel with fresh eyes, rather than knowing it intimately the way that you do now, and you'll have a better idea of how a reader will see it, and a better idea of what isn't right about it, things that you're just too close to it to see at the moment.

Let it rest for as long as you can bear to!

3. Komposten

Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Contributor

The idea with letting it rest for a while (the longer, the better) is that you want to get the book out of your mind completely. Work on other stories, do your other hobbies, etc. Just get the book out of your head.

When you finally return to it, you will still know what it's about and all that, but you will also see things you've never seen before. Errors, plot holes, you name it.