1. zoupskim

zoupskim Contributing Member Contributor

To much conversation in my story

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by zoupskim, Jan 22, 2016.

So, I have been writing this story about three people. I had resolved early to rely on conversations and short, well selected words to deal with descriptions of action. Any setting or plot elements are mostly conveyed by characters talking about them. There are a few times when people think to themselves, but mostly everything happening in conveyed through people describing it or talking about it.

As I read back through my writing, it strikes me that there is a LOT of talking. Most of the book, in fact, is people talking. Is this a bad thing? I do not think the dialog is bad, there is just SO much. Is this a bad thing? Should I narrate more of the setting and plot, or is it all right to have people just talk about it?

2. BrianIff

BrianIff I'm so piano, a bad punctuator. Contributor

I wouldn't have an answer because I'm new to fiction, but what percentage of the story would you say is dialogue?

zoupskim likes this.
  3. izzybot

izzybot Human Disaster Contributor

I don't think a lot of talking is bad, necessarily, but you do want to avoid a talking head sort of thing where it's all dialogue and you lose track of where the characters are or what they're doing. And be sure it's dialogue that makes sense for people to actually be saying. "The fortress is made of stacked stone with three massive towers on each -" "Dude I know, I'm looking at it too."

Having characters talk about the plot could come off as very tell-y rather than show-y, too, which could get tedious. But I don't know, honestly it seems like something I'd have to read for myself to make the call on.

Catrin Lewis and zoupskim like this.
  4. zoupskim