1. lilmisspants

lilmisspants New Member

To prologue or not to prologue

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by lilmisspants, Nov 24, 2012.

Hi all,
    so I have had this story in my head for a long time, and I finally decided to attempt to put it in to words. I will admit I am fairly new to writing, but it's something I have always wanted to do. I really need some advice regarding the Prologue issue. I know a lot of people say they are completely pointless and not to have them, but I'm not really sure if in my situation that is the case.
    The way I have it set up now is that the prologue is the background on a character who dies almost immediately in the beginning of the story. It is written from his point of view, with his thoughts leading up to his death. I have cut down this part of the story to about 2500 words, but cannot cut it down anymore because all of this information is vital to the storyline.
    I thought about just doing this as a first chapter, but I thought it would be confusing to the reader to start out as a character who dies, then change over to the other characters in the second chapter.
    Could anyone please give me their thoughts on this?
    Thanks in advance :)

2. BritInFrance

BritInFrance Active Member

Prologues can work really well, in this situation, but aren't always necessary. Why don't you write the whole story (finish it!) and then when you come to edit it (or do the second draft, whatever) see what works the best (I find I can spend forever trying to get the beginning of a story right and then never finishing it!).

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributing Member Contributor