1. DJP

DJP New Member

To Read or Not to Read Similar Works?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by DJP, Nov 21, 2013.

Of course, my novel is not novel. At first, this was a big disappointment, but I'm used to discovering how unoriginal my ideas are--I'm a programmer, too. I don't want to read the handful of books that are very similar to my own, but should I? I want the details of my work to be original and all my own. I don't want ideas inspired from somebody else's book bouncing around in my head, but I know it'll happen if I read them. Should I be familiar enough with similar works to guarantee sufficient differences? As I've fleshed out my outline, I've become confident that my approach is unique, even if the events might be similar to a host of other stories, so I'll probably read them... What'd you all do?

2. Fitzroy Zeph

Fitzroy Zeph Contributor Contributor

I read something about this just a while ago. They posit that you should read work of the same genre and style, but to put that work away well in advance of starting your own writing, and to not read it during the duration of your writing, for the reasons you mentioned. Similar ideas are everywhere. Example. I read the Eragon series to my daughter a little while ago. I don't read much magic. I;m reading Jim Butchers's Storm Front, and am surprised to see his premises for magic are very similar to Christopher Paolini's. Storm Front was written first. Maybe all magic is viewed as such, I don't know enough about it, but both of these are distinctly different series.

3. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

I tend to take note of what not to do when reading. I look for flaws so much I don't enjoy the read. I'm not suggesting my work is totally original but I rarely see stuff and shout, "AH - You stole my idea!" but like so many say, no story is original - it's just how you write it.

4. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor