1. Posy

Posy New Member

Too many ideas!

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Posy, Mar 5, 2009.

I've started writing this book, you see, but my problem is, I already started thinking of writing another book! :eek:
    So now, my inspiration is crushed on my other book, any way I can get out of this problem? :confused:

So basically, I'm asking if any one else has suffered this problem, and knows of any tips on how to get out of it. :redface:

2. Arrow

Arrow Member

If this helps: I have been muscling through with my novel for the past 18 months (for whatever reasons it's taking more time than I planned...anyway). I've had other story ideas come into my head that are not appropriate for this present work. I jot down these ideas from time to time, so I can pick them up down the road when time permits (or i'm so inspired). My tendency is to focus on a single project at a time, but plenty of people can multi-task. If you can then good for you. It seems a book would require serious attentiveness however.

3. Fictionfreak

Fictionfreak Member

I think all writers experience this problem. Especially when writing novels. I, myself have never fully completed a novel, the farthest I've ever gotten was a 12 page short story. So.. I'm kind of in the same boat.

But I do symphathize for you.

How deep are your characters? I've been finding that, when I know my character better, more opportunities are opened, and the more engaged I am with the story as a whole.

---
    Oh, and lay low on the smilies there cheif.:cool:

4. pacmansays

pacmansays Senior Member

What i try to do is focus on writing one and developing several others at the same time. I suffer from a similar problem and have come to the conclusion to split it up, trying to focus on one being written and then jotting down ideas for others.

If i actually complete a draft then i'll work on revising this one while writing one and brainstorming another.