Tags:
  1. Mistyunion

Mistyunion New Member

Trouble dealing with criticism

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Mistyunion, Aug 12, 2010.

I'm an avid writer, and have written around 300,000 words or so within the past two years, but the writing's all dead. When I say this I mean I never show it to anyone nor let anyone read it, even if it's just over the shoulder. I am fiercely protective of my writing no matter how flawed I know it is...

Which brings us to my problem. I am a serious writer. I write everything with a mindset of having it published so that others can enjoy it and plan everything, so technique is not my issue, at least I so believe, but I cannot stand critique and have trouble facing any negative comments. As you can see in my join date and post count, I joined a while ago, posted some and left, because I disliked the criticism. Now that my writing quality has been steadily dropping I need critique and advice.

I suppose, long story short is, I suffer from an immense amount of pressure in daily life, and the necessity of perfection has led me to become a self-destructive perfectionist.

I want to overcome this, (and my perfectionism insists that I do), so here's the first step in doing so.

How do you suggest I deal with this issue?

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

I don't know what to tell you except to grit your teeth and just bear it. There's no other way to acclimate yourself to the criticism and develop a thicker skin.

And if you want to be a published author, you'll have to develop that skin. Between reviews, amazon comments, and just random internet postings, etc. you'll probably never see as much criticism as after you are published, even if the work is very good. That's just the nature of the beast.

3. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

A more practical suggestion can you meditate? I find it a wonderful resource for my writing and it can help you gain some confidence and chill out about it.?