1. Torana

Torana Contributor Contributor

Trying something new.

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by Torana, Sep 28, 2007.

I decided that I am going to try and write a poem in another language. But just to be different I am going to research Native Indian languages and try to write a poem in their language. I know there is quite a substantial number of tribes and they all spoke differently but I think that this will be a rather fun experience and challange.
    Learning something new is always fun I think and this will be one hell of a challange if you ask me.

Anyone else ever tried something like this?

2. wordwizard

wordwizard New Member

I have only written in different styles. Never in a different language. Hope it goes well for you.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i sometimes write poetry in french, but i have been speaking and writing french since taking 3 years of it high school decades ago and have spent much time in france, including living there full time for nearly a year... and even then, i still need a native french-speaker to go over it for me to catch any grammar or idiom goofs... for you to just 'instantly' try to learn a very complex language with absolutely no syntactical or grammatical connection to english, such as the amer-indian ones and then expect to be able to write poetry, which is the most refined of all uses of a language in it, does not sound doable, imo, unless you live among the people whose tongue you want to use, and become fluent in speaking it first...