1. ScaryMonster

ScaryMonster Active Member

Beta Readers vs Professional editors.

Discussion in 'Collaboration' started by ScaryMonster, Mar 7, 2014.

I was just wondering if it's appropriate for writers to ask if anyone wants to beta read their manuscript on this forum? That's kind of where I'm at now. I've asked family members and friends, but they're loath to be cruel to me. I've edited it about four times now and I'm sick of looking at it. I've considered sending it to a professional editor, but I don't have a spare thousand dollars in my treasury.
    Do you think its better to pay for a professional editor and go off their opinion or gauge the opinions of beta readers?
    I'm a reasonable editor, but I still keep finding technical mistakes even after I've read through it forensically! I honestly wonder, are writers capable of thoroughly editing their own work?
    It's a Science Fiction - Steampunk story about 45 thousand words and I'm planning to self-publish it as an ebook.

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Actually, I don't even know what the policy is on this anymore. Maybe one of the mods could clarify.

I'm against hiring a pro editor because chances are you'll never make back what you spent. A writer should be able to edit his/her own work.

Of course. For some of the more experienced writers, like T. C. Boyle, the manuscript gets published as it is (i.e., without any changes from the editor).

Good luck!

3. David K. Thomasson

David K. Thomasson Senior Member

The former. Do your research and choose carefully. But definitely the former.

4. JayG

JayG Banned Contributor

First, editors will not teach you how to write. It's your job to know your craft on a professional level before you submit the work to them.

Next: editors do not take work and fix it so it reads professionally. If they could do that they would write and sell their own work and make a lot more money.