Tags:
  1. Xerc

Xerc New Member

Turned/Turning and Walking

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by Xerc, Nov 18, 2013.

Hi Guys

New to the forum and need some general editing advice, so there may be a whole load of posts from me looking for help, apologies if I repeat things already discussed.

I'm a new author and recently finished my SciFi book, 75,000 words.

So my questions is :

When editing I noticed that I use the following words extensively -

Turned/Turning - 131 instances
    Walked - 143 instances

Examples :

1. 'Turning to her, Bob started bouncing to the music, grabbed her hands, and walked backwards towards the bar.'

2. 'He drifted off for a moment then turned back to her, “I heard blah is blah."'

3. 'Bob turned to the now slightly flushed and gawping young man. “Have some respect Jim.”'

4. 'Apprehensive, he walked tentatively into the room and looked down at her.'

5. 'It dawned on her that she now felt very alone and her face dropped as she walked in.'

6. 'They walked a small distance to an opening that looked over the warehouse.'

Not sure if I'm just being paranoid, but there's a limit to what a thesaurus can suggest for the act of walking and turning, plus I don't want to over complicate things. By the way, the above examples are edited lol.

Has anyone got any advice on general movement or travelling for characters?

Thanks

Last edited: Nov 18, 2013
  2. Okon

Okon Contributor Contributor

That doesn't seem too like many instances to me. Also, I hear that certain things are ignored by readers as much as punctuation. He/she said is a good example. Maybe walked and turned are no different.

I would be more concerned about your sentences and wording. 1 and 5 are run-on sentences, and there are a lot of unnecessary words and phrases. I'll get specific if you want me to.

3. Xerc

Xerc New Member