1. Dylan J

Dylan J New Member

Unpublished Author, Time-line questions

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by Dylan J, Jan 8, 2012.

I am new to the writing field, and I am unpublished. I recently finished the first draft of my manuscript (zombies), found an agent that represents this type of genre (hard to do), and crafted my query letter.

I am not certain as to what to do next, but here is a tentative order of things. Is this ok?

1. Have a small group of friends/family read the manuscript, and offer advice
    2. First round of revisions
    3. Have a reviewing company, or somebody experienced in the business read it and offer good advice
    4. Second round of revisions
    5. Take a step back, read the whole thing, think hard about it
    6. Final round of revisions
    7. Have manuscript edited
    8. Send query letter to agent
    9. Agent accepts
    10. Agent gets me published

Is this a good order? After researching agents and even drafting my query letter, a painstaking process, I realized that most agents do NOT want queries until the manuscript is entirely finished, which includes revisions and edits.

Also, I realize steps 9-10 are unlikely, I am simply writing them down because that WOULD be the order of things, right?

2. cruciFICTION

cruciFICTION Contributing Member Contributor

If you only just finished it, give it a rest. Leave it for anywhere from a week to a month to a year. Just wait long enough that you can look at it with truly fresh eyes. I suggest about a month. That way, when you're reading it, you'll get through different parts and think, "Wow, did I really write that?" It means you're not as emotionally vested in the writing itself. That's where you give it your first round of revisions, and you need to give it the utmost effort.