1. GuardianWynn

GuardianWynn Contributor Contributor

Peer pressure, take the plunge?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by GuardianWynn, Sep 5, 2015.

A friend of mine was inflicting harsh peer pressure. He is no writer but he is a smart man- most of the time.

He thinsk I am just all talk. That I will write and write and never do anything. I have a completed draft. So he thinks I should send it to a publisher and see what happens.

I haven't done that because I thought doing so is a mistake. I am a young writer and well not worth bragging about. I was sort of a C- student in English.

My spelling and grammar skills are... well, even after for drafts I bet you guys can spot more than a hand full of errors.

Though I am not trying to be negative at myself. I do believe I have good ideas and I try and get better all the time. Mostly from just sheer expirence. I try and write 5 to 10k a week and I try and show it to see if I have learned or gotten better. The I try and apply new styles concepts or techniques and just improve.

I know nothing of the publishing world and just thought that heck I am not even 25. I thought I can sit back take some years and get good at this. I thought taking the plunge now is a mistake.

Could I be wrong? Am I just holding myself back with fear?

@jannert
    @Mckk
    @GingerCoffee
    @Wreybies

matwoolf likes this.
  2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

No, you are absolutely right. Your 'friend' probably thinks the only mark of a writer is if they are published. However, he's completely ignoring the fact that, like anything else, the craft has to be learned.

The worst thing you could possibly do is publish just now. As you say, your grammar skills need polishing, you're constantly asking us about plot ideas and character development, which indicates you know your story isn't ready yet. Don't let somebody bully you into taking that step too soon. Tell him ...politely ...to go play in traffic.