?

Reading the thread, what's the best means for them to pick up objects?

1. Devices implanted in their heads (visible on the ear) that allow them to levitate objects

33.3%
  2. A device worn in the "frog" of the hoof. They can pick up objects with it through magnets

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. A hoof-boot with two "fingers" and a "thumb", the user tenses its arm muscles to use the digits

66.7%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Gadget Steamhoof

Gadget Steamhoof New Member

Urgent: How important is it to explain an everyday-use device in a steampunk fantasy novel

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Gadget Steamhoof, Jun 30, 2014.

Hello everyone this is my first time posting on these forums. I'm a little nervous because my story isn't nearly finished and because it's unusual, but here it goes. It is long, because I've been through several ideas myself and I'm in desperate need of help because it's driving me crazy :( I'll start by linking a few pics of what the main species in the story look like:

The Caprans (protagonist species):

http://i.imgur.com/GeY7t7c.png
    http://i.imgur.com/XWubGGr.png https://www.dropbox.com/sh/2hnps8dbqo6komi/AADQpRljOHjou3Q-10hU2Hs_a/Gadget%20visit.psd

And the Hethrell (villain species):
    http://i.imgur.com/BWCcyed.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/gq3GQYD.jpg

As you can imagine since they are quadrupeds and don't have fingers or toes, it would be difficult for them to manipulate objects, which is especially important since the story is intended to be an emotional steampunk fantasy war story between these two races. Most things in the story such as their weaponry, fuel sources, food production, government, etc. have been explained without getting in the way of the story, but the biggest issue so far is the explanation of how they can use tools without fingers.