1. Midnight_Adventurer

Midnight_Adventurer Active Member

Urgent!! Writer's opinions needed

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Midnight_Adventurer, Aug 31, 2010.

Hi everyone,

I'm currently studying a professional writing and editing course and for my Journalism class I'm writing a feature article. At first it was going to be about my local council but while sitting at my desk and getting nowhere I came up with something more interesting. Music. More specifically how music can influence writers. I'm an avid listener of music while I write, including right now (Afterglow by INXS) so I'm hoping you'll spend a couple of minutes to answer these questions and help contribute to my feature article :)

IMPORTANT: I'll be using some of the responses as anecdotes or quotes so please state whether you agree for me to use your real name as the source. I'll only print your initials and this article will only be given to my teacher and no one else, thank you.

1) Do you listen to music while you write? if no then why not?
    2) What sort? Genres?
    3) How does it influence your writing?
    4) Do you have a best/worst experience while writing and listening to music?

2. Peerie Pict

Peerie Pict Contributing Member Contributor

Yes I do, around two thirds of the time.

2) What sort? Genres?

Usually classical or jazz. Instrumental helps because hearing lyrics is distracting.

Music evokes atmosphere, and the right type of atmosphere can really ignite the imagination.

I'm not quite sure what you mean. Music nearly always helps my writing. If it doesn't I just switch it off.

3. Midnight_Adventurer

Thanks for the reply! With the last question I meant have you been listening to a certin piece of music and it's inspired you or helped with writers block. Any experience like that. Thanks again :)

4. thirdwind

thirdwind Contributing Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor