1. Reximus

Reximus New Member

Useful Tools for a New Writer

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Reximus, Feb 8, 2010.

I'm 16 and discovered a few months ago I have talent for being a writer. Over the last few months I've gotten really into it and have been designing a journey/adventure/comedy/fantasy novel.

Being a new writer I was wondering if there are any more experienced writers out there willing to list some useful tools and advice. Tools such as websites to generators, guides etc. Anything useful you can think of.

I really appreciate any help you can give. Thanks :-D.

2. MagicEvmeister

MagicEvmeister New Member

I'm fairly new to writing myself, but I am really rather enjoying the exploration of my creativity.

I think alot of the importance in what you write comes from your portrayal of the details. If you are setting your story in a real place then, if you can, go and visit it. Whatever your characters are going to get up to, places they visit, things they do, things they see, you should try and experience them in this world the best you can before trying to commit it to paper.

Another tip is to learn to use grammar and punctuation as best as you can. I know I'm not perfect with it, but I don't think it is educated properly these days.

My final tip is that your question is not a new one. There is a plethora of people who have asked it before and the reponses are a simple google search away. Try searching for tips on character and scene building, and you'll find loads of stuff out there.

3. InkDream

InkDream Active Member

Write. Write a lot. Take extra English classes or creative writing classes, they will help more than anything any of us can say to you. Don't limit yourself in what you write. Explore writing different genres, using different styles, and read. Just have fun with it.

4. Irish87

Irish87 New Member