1. ChaosReigns

ChaosReigns Ov The Left Hand Path Contributor

World Lore

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by ChaosReigns, Jul 7, 2016.

I've been sitting on an idea for a while that links to my main series that I've been working on, and coming back to it has made me come back to this idea.

what it was, was that I have a lot of extra lore and background/history that I feel would be worthwhile reading, as well as many poems/songs from each of the races within my series. would it be wise to also do a "book of lore" kind of thing giving all these extra little pieces of information in one place, what I have sitting here isn't in the books (as it's not really needed there) but I think it might be interesting to some people.

it would be presented in the kind of way like The World of Ice and Fire for Game of Thrones. and will be arranged in a way that makes sense.

Thanks

Chaos

2. IlaridaArch

IlaridaArch Active Member

Is it wise or not, is a pretty difficult question.

Do you have main series published? Is it selling and having attention? Is this "book of the world" something readers ask? Do you consider it worthwhile of your time?

Those are the questions that really matter. Obviously those are cool, and your readers will buy it (some of them). It's more about if you want to dedicate time for it.

3. Sniam

Sniam Member

Well, it is certainly not something that unusual to see. Famous examples are Rowling (Quidditch through the Ages, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, The Tales of Beedle the Bard etc), or Tolkien (The Silmarillion, The Book of Lost Tales).
    Though it seems to be specific to really big best sellers which most probably were milked by editors, I think it could really help you in your writing by classifying infos. You could also aim at those legends or tales or even historical events within your story so as to make it more dense :)
    However, I cannot garanty anything when it comes to publishing the thing.

4. halisme