1. im6661999

im6661999 New Member

using names of books and companies in fiction

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by im6661999, Dec 13, 2010.

hello

i am new to fiction writing and was so glad to find this forum. i have an idea for a book that involves using names of other fiction and non-fiction books and their authors to tell the story (story is completely fictional though).

what are the rules regarding use of real names (authors) and their books in my fiction story? do i need to get 'clearance' from them?

assuming i cant use their names, if i create fictitious names and books that resemble the real authors/books - does that create any corpyright issues?

thanks for your help

2. SashaMerideth

SashaMerideth Contributing Member

Sticky ground there, Fair Use rights are being trampled in the USA. Fair Use is now an affirmative defense in a lawsuit, rather than a bar to filing the lawsuit in the first place.

If you can mimic other's style then it becomes satire, but if you use their works, you then run into copyright violations if you're not operating under Fair Use.. but that still won't stop the origional authors or representatives suing you.

3. sereda008

sereda008 Senior Member

I believe there will be no issues if the people you are going to write about agree.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

'fair use' does not apply to fiction, or anything else of a commercial nature... one should be familiar with the rules governing this exception, before referring to it in advising others:

http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html

titles and author's names can be used freely in fiction... excerpts from the works cannot, if they're still under copyright... see for yourself what can and cannot be done:
    http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/

however, if you malign the work or the author, said author may sue your pants off...

5. im6661999

im6661999 New Member

======================

thank you all for your responses...