1. dmgwriting

dmgwriting New Member

How did you get into writing?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dmgwriting, Jul 26, 2016.

I'm not only new to the writing forums, I am quite new to writing in general! Well writing online at least. About 4 months ago I signed up to various freelancing sites, and yet I am only making it to the forums today.

Having read a few posts I am excited to join and believe I can learn a lot from other members, and hopefully share any experiences I have had in my short writing career.

Enough about me... How did you get into writing? I'd love to hear everyone's experiences.

Where are my manners, I'm David! DMG will do.

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  2. Shn1010

Shn1010 Member

Actually I started out pretty early. I used to get inspired by our grade school literature classes. I wrote my first poem in 2nd grade and it wasn't too bad. Then I used to write short stories and I even got one published by the newspaper. This is embarrassing for me to admit, but I stole the idea. Well, I was only in 4th grade. Then I started to pump out an entire saga by the time I was in 5th grade but it was genuinely bad. Terrible. I wrote more poems by the time I went to middle school and they were a lot better. However, I stopped writing in 8th grade and started focusing on science. Quite a mistake. Then I had a mental breakdown in the 10th grade and that is when I went back to writing.

I started writing my first novel in 12th grade.

That was long! I'm Shahreen but you can call me Shn. (It's pronounced like Shin)

Oscar Leigh likes this.
  3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Hi, @dmgwriting, and welcome to the forum! Please read our New Member Quick Start - it'll get you going around here. Participate and have fun!