1. Sean2112bd

Sean2112bd New Member

It's official: Reading makes you a better writer

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Sean2112bd, Feb 18, 2011.

I just finished "The Stand" by Stephen King. I read it in one week and a half...all 1,135 pages, and I got to say it was great. :) It's the first book I've read by him and I'm itchin' to read more of his stuff.

Anyway, after reading it I noticed certain changes in my writing after studying his writing style. Now, granted I'm a novice writer and I'm still trudging the arduous road to "writerdome", if such a thing exists :rolleyes:, but I learned something about effective storytelling and I thought I might share even though I may not be the most qualified.

1. Details: One of the things that struck me was the amount of detail he puts into certain objects. For example, he wouldn't just say "the notebook", instead he would say "the ring bider notebook with the dogeared pages and the gold embroidery on the front", or something like that. I know this kind of goes with the no-brainer advice, "show, don't tell", but I noticed that he does it in a way that makes you more "pulled in", especially when he uses similies like this: "He could feel the pores of his body open like a million mouths and slurp the water in like a sponge." I was like woah that's good.

2. Flashbacks and Voice: There were a lot of flashbacks in the book, kind of like "LOST" if you any of you guys have seen the show. I figured out that for an effective flashback to work it needs to relate to a certain object the character has or sees, or a certain situation the character is in. I know that seems obvious (at least to those who are experienced), but those flashbacks allow for the reader to gain sympathy for the character which is why it is so effective.