1. arron89
    Offline

    arron89 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Auckland

    WF Monthly Book: December

    Discussion in 'Book Discussion' started by arron89, Nov 7, 2009.

    Things are starting to wind down (in some ways at least), so it might be a good time to bring back the book club.

    Please post your suggestions below and when we get a decent response we'll put it to a vote as per usual.

    A couple of suggestions offered already:
    Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises - Ernest Hemingway, a true Modernist classic, and a must read for fans of Bret Easton Ellis, Haruki Murakami, and many other contemporary/postmodern authors....

    And Then There Were None - Agatha Christie, the world's best-selling mystery.
     
  2. marina
    Offline

    marina Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Seattle
    Here are my recommendations:

    The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (what a surprise, huh? :D)
    - 384 pages, and a really quick read because the story is tense & engrossing
    - A quintessential futuristic gladiator book described as part They Shoot Horses Don't They?, part Battle Royale, and The Game meets Spartacus meets Survivor all rolled up in one.
    - 4.5 out of 5 stars w/650 reviews on Amazon.com
    - Placed third in the YALSA 2009 Teens Top Ten


    Looking for Alaska by John Green
    - 256 pages
    - Excellent YA literature; often compared to Catcher in the Rye--only better :D
    - 4.5 out of 5 stars w/122 reviews on Amazon.com
    - Winner of the Printz Award (for excellence in YA lit)
    - Placed first in the YALSA 2009 Teens Top Ten
     
  3. Twisted Inversely
    Offline

    Twisted Inversely Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    My imagination. But I drop by the real world for m
    Considering that it's December we should do something Christmassy like A Christmas Carol (Charles Dickens) or Hogfather (Terry Pratchett).

    Continuing on with Maria’s YA theme. I’d suggest Tomorrow, When the War Began (John Marsden). If your Australian the book and the series need no introduction. But for everyone else it was pretty much the equivalent of Harry Potter or twilight (only much better written) for Australian teens during the nineties, and still has a very strong following today, quite possibly because it is a required English text at most high schools. You can check it out on Amazon here.

    Arron I really like the Agatha Christie suggestion. Good call.
     
  4. arron89
    Offline

    arron89 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Auckland
    Oh those suggestions weren't mine, although I do like both of them....Cog suggested Hemingway (a suggestion I whole-heartedly second; it easily ranks among my favourite books of all time) and Marcelo suggested Agatha Christie.
     
  5. Rei
    Offline

    Rei Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Kingston
    If enough of us are able to get our hands on it, how about Terry's book, Flank Hawk?
     
  6. thirdwind
    Offline

    thirdwind Contributing Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Boston
    Seconded. I should be getting my copy in the next few days. I'm not sure about people outside the US, though. But if everyone who wants to participate can get a copy before early December, that would be awesome.
     
  7. Rei
    Offline

    Rei Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Kingston
    I'm in Canada, and my copy came fairly quickly. I picked mine up today.
     
  8. Gigi_GNR
    Offline

    Gigi_GNR Guys, come on. WAFFLE-O. Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12,143
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    I second The Hunger Games, and I would also like to nominate The Lovely Bones.
     
  9. Speedy
    Offline

    Speedy Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,866
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Australia
    Now that is one awesome idea!

    thirded )

    Though maybe it'd be better early in the new year *shrugs*
     
  10. Rei
    Offline

    Rei Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Kingston
    yeah, you're probably right, Speedy. It'll give us time to get our copies.
     
  11. InkDream
    Offline

    InkDream Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    the Evergreen State
    How about some classic science-fiction.

    The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin
     
  12. Gannon
    Offline

    Gannon Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    I'd like one of the following if others are interested:

    Huckleberry Finn - Mark Twain
    The Death Of Bunny Monroe - Nick Cave
    (And although it's been suggested before) The Road - Cormac McCarthy
     
  13. DragonGrim
    Offline

    DragonGrim Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Iowa
    Yep, that one, because I already ordered it

    Flank Hawk
     
  14. InkDream
    Offline

    InkDream Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    the Evergreen State
    So how does this work? Do we vote on a title?
     
  15. thirdwind
    Offline

    thirdwind Contributing Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Boston
    Arron should be making a poll after enough suggestions are given. After that, everyone who wants to participate votes on which book they want to read.
     
  16. Eddyz Aquila
    Offline

    Eddyz Aquila Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    I agree with the idea of Flank Hawk as well. :)
     
  17. Agreen
    Offline

    Agreen Faceless Man Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Canada
    I like this, for either December or January, and have my copy.
     
  18. TWErvin2
    Offline

    TWErvin2 Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    I am honored you're considering my novel as a selection for the book club. If anyone runs into any problems attempting to obtain it, let me know.

    It's available via ebook through smashwords.com in multiple formats and thus any potential reader could obtain it (and read it on an ebook reader or as a PDF or RTF or even a text file on their computer).

    Flank Hawk is also available I know everywhere in the USA and Canadian readers have obtained it as well. I know that Amazon.com in the UK and Germany carry it. I don't know about Australian readers or elsewhere in the world (Central/South America, Africa, and parts of Asia, etc.)

    I would of course participate in any discussions if the book club readers desired.

    I should probably add that I do have a page on my website with discussion questions for reading clubs: Flank Hawk Reading Club Questions

    It would be best if the questions were not examined too closely until the novel has been read as there are some questions that could be spoilers.

    Terry
     
  19. arron89
    Offline

    arron89 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Auckland
    Well it seems pretty unanimous, Flank Hawk will probably be the book for December. I'll carry over the other suggestions to January. So yeah, if you're in, think about grabbing a copy.
     
  20. Rei
    Offline

    Rei Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Kingston
    Why don't we put the poll up to ensure that enough people who want to participate in the book club have their copy of Flank Hawk? If not, it can be on the list of suggestions again for the next month.
     
  21. thirdwind
    Offline

    thirdwind Contributing Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    2,896
    Location:
    Boston
    So, is everyone in agreement about Flank Hawk? December is almost here, and I'm eager to get this book of the month thing started.
     
  22. arron89
    Offline

    arron89 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Auckland
    Yep that was the plan...so on Dec 1 the new thread will go live! Excitingggggg!!
     

Share This Page